top of page

3 Am Serenity

Image by Arun Kapur.

An image set at night, the moon shining through the clouds bright enough to illuminate the form of a person spreading out their arms.

They say the witching hour is 3 am.

Something about magic being at its peak,

interconnected with the things we cannot see,

but rather feel. I think I enjoy that analogy, that idea.

It makes the dark open roads less lonely.

Instead of the road just being me, the fog

and the lazy yellow light breaking through it.

The tangibility of my company may be questioned

but their loyalty, their empathy is unwavering.

We share the world with each other

with unspoken rules of civility.

There have always been things I’ve wanted to say

out loud, but I’ve been too scared to even whisper.

I think I can start the conversation here,

amongst the magic and the ghouls.

I trust that they can keep my secrets,

and I hope they know I can

Keep theirs.


 

Emily Broderick is a 21-year-old writer based out of Long Island, New York. Her main forms of writing are poetry and short stories. Emily is an extroverted person who loves to go out and experience whatever the world has to offer. This is seen in her work as it is based on her own personal stories and the feelings that came with them. You can follow her on Twitter @beefybarbie.


 

An image of Arun Kapur, a person with dark hard and a full beard and mustache smiling.

Enigmatic. Charismatic. Passionate. Lover of life and all truth that binds us together. Arun Kapur is a mental health advocate that uses the medium of the arts to raise awareness of stigmas and well-being. Through art, he believes voices shall be heard.

bottom of page