top of page

On Display


A closeup image of a white wolf, its yellow eyes staring directly at the viewer.

The work of a werewolf is hard work--

mutilating animals, howling at the moon.


It is not easy to terrorize all night.


Sometimes I need

a little water, a soft rug

to circle and rest on.


Sometimes I need sweetness,

the caress of a human hand.


All I ever want to do is take a little walk.


It is not easy to transform--

my body taken over by fluorescent

waves and tremors. Tremors

going all up and down

as I slowly shed hair and

become soft.


At the end, my body is finally

naked and vulnerable,

visible


 

Callie S. Blackstone writes both poetry and prose. Her work appears or is forthcoming in Plainsongs, Freshwater Literary Journal, and others. She is a lifelong New Englander. She is lucky enough to wake up to the smell of saltwater and the call of seagulls everyday. You can find her online home at callieblackstone.wordpress.com.

bottom of page